Alternate Universe?

I don’t think I’ve ever explained to anyone in depth what it’s like for me when I’m on an automotive event. It’s a lot of weird and obscure working hours, time zone hopping, and being 110% ‘on’ at all times. It’s meeting a lot of people and having unique and unforgettable experiences. On these events your brain gets so wired, you’re pumped with adrenaline and coffee, and in a constant state of intense ‘problem solving’ mode.

When I was in Utah last year, I was there for 3-ish weeks in this hyped, strange environment. German whispered in one ear, English in another, and all other languages  from across the world as a general background noise.

In addition, my family consistently buzzing my phone wanting to have a quick chat about whatever – but on events it’s not easy for a quick chat most of the time.

To put an event environment in layman’s terms – it’s like living in an alternate universe.

For the entire duration of the event, it feels like anything back home doesn’t really exist. It’s not only on the back burner, but it’s completely off the stove. I have all four burners going all at once with the matters at hand – tangible things happening right in front of me.

Now with the coronavirus, it feels similar in a sense – am I in an alternate universe?

I look outside my window; the sun is shining, the birds are singing, I see the MTA buses constantly driving by. It’s all seemingly normal, but I know it’s not.

I know that there is a highly contagious disease floating around the air, and there are limited tests for it and no vaccine in sight.

People are recovering, but people are dying too.

We’re all faced with the dilemma – how serious do we take this thing?

Do we wait for Tom Hanks, Rita Wilson, and NBA’s Christian Wood to die before we realize it’s not just the elderly, the immunocompromised, and the smokers that are high risk?

I’m sorry, but I don’t think so.

While this all feels like some weird alternate universe, or some apocalyptic movie (I get major The Happening vibes personally) – it’s not. This is reality. There is a virus and it is deadly and no one knows what to do.

Take it for what it is – literally no one knows what to do, and no matter how many articles are circling around,  no one actually knows.

So take precaution, practice social distancing as much as humanly possible – not for yourself but for everyone. Not everything is about you.

On a lighter note, here are some things you can do while social distancing:

  • Netflix and Isolate

    • Shows I’m watching or I’ve wrapped up recently that I can recommend:
      • Good Girls
      • Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist (NBC show, can find on Hulu)
      • Sex Education
      • Spinning Out
      • Lock & Key
      • Derry Girls
      • The Witcher
      • Schitt’s Creek
    • Please also note that Hulu has all seasons of Jersey Shore so if you’re feeling some nostalgic trash TV – you’re welcome.

 

  • Take up Hobbies

    • Do you have an old instrument lying around you’ve been meaning to learn to play?
    • Did you used to love drawing/painting but haven’t had the time?
    • Start a journal – you cannot honestly tell me your 2020 has been anything short of absolute insanity… your kids and grandkids will be in shock when they read back to everything that’s happened Q1 of 2020…
    • Take an online class! These Ivy Leagues offer free online classes
    • Plan a trip – just because you can’t travel now doesn’t mean you can’t travel in the future. Go on Google’s mymaps and map out a roadtrip (ANYWHERE not just the US) and then plan a trip around there. Where will you stay? How will you get to the starting point? How long will your trip be? Is anyone going with you?
      • If you need trip planning inspo, shoot me a note, I have so many trips planned, some I’ve taken and some not quite yet 🙂

 

  • Get Organized

    • Maybe it’s time to get rid of old clothes or shoes
    • Rearrange your space
    • Spring cleaning time ??

 

  • Exercise

    • Don’t just walk around the apartment – lunge around the apartment
    • Find some work-out videos online and take over the living room
    • So many apps that have 30 day ab challenges, squat challenges, so take on the challenges!
    • Jam out sesh incl. full dance breaks in your room 🙂

 

  • Maintain social connections

    • Social distancing doesn’t mean quit talking with people. The world may be ending (#jokingbutnotjoking), so say what you need to say.
      • Call your family, call your friends
      • Text them too
      • Facetime/Videochat with them
      • Is there an old friend you haven’t spoken to in ages? Connect with them. Why not? We’re all bored anyway.

At the end of the day – this whole thing is unbelievable. There are toilet paper and handsanitizer shortages, some stores are completely wiped out of everything; some people violently believe this is our generations ‘World War’ and some people violently believe this is a media sensationalized fad and everyone’s being dramatic.

Whether or not you believe in the seriousness of the coronavirus, remember: This isn’t all about you. It isn’t just your health we’re all worried about. It’s everyone’s.

So quit being selfish and do your part.

As my one of my elementary school principals, Mr. King, would end every morning prayer at St. Ambrose, “Be kind, be courteous. God bless you and God bless America.”

 

 

 

 

 

Like reading my experiences? Check out my Travel Blog from when I studied abroad in France and ran around Europe for 5 months.

 

2 thoughts on “Alternate Universe?

  1. Very good, I know your Mom, from her UPS days and you are brilliant. Just like her. I would love to follow you, my name is Angel, your mom is my friend on Facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, I love Good Girls. I haven’t gotten caught up on the current season though. I’ve actually been auditing a class at Yale called the Science of Well-Being (its their most popular class!) and its been really interesting and just what I needed during this crazy time! Stay well, stay safe and stay inside!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment